Who loves Jesus? – 2017.11.11.

Jesus says:
“Therefore I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—for she loved much. But he who is forgiven little, loves little.”
Luke 7, 47

Jesus had been invited to a Pharisee’s house for dinner. There were many other guests too. When a sinful woman heard that Jesus was at the Pharisee’s house, she came there with a fragrant, precious oil and approached HIM. She was crying and her tears fell down onto HIS feet. She dried HIS feet with her hair, kissed them and anointed them with the oil. The Pharisee thought to himself: If Jesus were a prophet, he would know what kind of woman she is… Jesus turned to the Pharisee and said: “Listen Simon: A moneylender had two debtors, one owed him 500 denarii, the other 50. But neither of them could pay their dues so he abated the depts of both. Now which of them will love him more? The one who had been forgiven the higher debt of course! Do you see this woman? When I came into your house, you did not bring me water to wash my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not anoint my hair with oil but she poured her precious oil on my feet.
Yes, her many sins are forgiven, for she showed so much love to me. Whoever has been forgiven little loves little. And Jesus said to the woman: “Your sins are forgiven. Your faith helped you, walk in peace!”
The Pharisee didn´t have any sin or only a few. Therefore he did not need salvation. But the woman had so many sins she needed redemption! In Jesus she found forgiveness, acceptance, love, mercy and new life. She didn`t know the bible but she could read in HIS eyes and heart. HE loves the lost!
Let the Holy Spirit show you whether you are the good person you think you are or whether you are abysmally lost like this woman. HE did not die on the cross for superficial sins. HE shed HIS blood for those who really need it. And these people are infinitely grateful to HIM, just like this woman. Your love for Jesus shows how your heart is shaped: Do you love the Lord so much you’d do something crazy? HE died for the sinners not for the hypocrites. HE likes it when we show HIM our love.
Do you believe that Jesus could refuse this woman who loved HIM so much?
No, because HE loves her.

Thank you, Jesus! You are so great in forgiveness! And I must confess: I need your forgiveness of my sins. Yes, Lord, I am a failure. But you accept me regardless! That is why I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

