Works of Love – 2017.11.10

Jesus says:
A new command I give you:  love one another.  As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.
John 13,34f.

Jesus knew His hour had come. Since He loved His own, He showed them His love to perfection. Jesus arose from the meal, took off His robe and girded himself with a linen cloth. Then He poured water into a bowl and began to wash the disciples’ feet and dry them with the linen cloth. When He had washed their feet, put on his robe again and had taken a seat, He said to them, “Do you understand what I have done to you? You say to me Master and Lord, and you rightly call me that; for such I am. So as I, your LORD and Master, have washed your feet, so you too must wash one another’s feet. Amen, I say to you, the slave is no greater than his master. Blessed are you if you know that and act accordingly. … I give you a new command: love one another!”
We think that in prayer and silence we serve the Lord. We prefer to be completely isolated like a hermit in order to get very close to God. But Jesus shows us another way: in works, in acts of service, in doing His will we find God.
Of course, we also need silence and prayer. But Jesus shows us that we find God in activity and self-denial. Then we are closest to Him, even though we may not feel that way.
Prayer and action belong together, otherwise we become spiritually inflated.
Jesus looks at our actions. HE wants to live in us in such a way that we can forget ourselves and deny ourselves. Then we are free to serve others. Even the “beloved” brother, who’s such an irritation! Yes, Jesus even washed the feet of Judas, and here we are, not even wanting to greet some brothers. That’s how make ourselves judge!

Lord, help me! Everything revolves around me! But I don’t want to be jealous or proud or greedy anymore, I want to live for You. Give me the courage to be humble and help me overcome myself! I want to do Your works of love, as You have done to me.

Leave a Reply

